| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

Fadnavis sworn in as 27th CM of Maha, Uddhav attends swearing-in


Mumbai (Oct 31, 2014): Devendra Fadnavis on Friday took oath as the 27th Chief Minister of Maharashtra and the first from BJP in the state, at a grand function in Mumbai's wankhade stadium.

Fadnavis, a fourth-term MLA from Nagpur, is now the 27th Chief Minister of Maharashtra and the 18th person to hold the post. He will also be the fourth politician from Vidarbha region to become CM and at 44, the second youngest person to hold the top post in Maharashtra. 

Along with Devendra Fadnavis,Maharashtra Governor Vidysagar Rao gave oath to seven Cabinet Ministers and two Ministers of state. Eknath Khadse, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Vinod Tawde, Pankaja Gopinath Munde, Vishnu Rama Savra took oath as Cabinet Ministers, while Vidya Jaiprakash Thakur and Dilip Nyandev Kamble took oath as minister of state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP patriarch L K Advani, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, NCP leader and former Deputy CM Ajit Pawar, Goa CM Manohar Parrikar, Andhra Pradesh cM Chandra Babu Naidu and dignitaries from across the country  were present at the event.

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, who was to skip the swearing-in ceremony as he was upset over the Shiv Sena not finding a place in the government, attended the ceremony after BJP chief Amit Shah and Devendra Fadnavis had a telephonic conversation and invited him for the event.

Bharatiya Janata Party MLAs on October 28 had elected Fadnavis for the top post. The decision was taken in the BJP legislature party meeting in the Vidhan Bhavan in the presence of the party's central observers, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP national general secretary JP Nadda.