| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

Maharashtra Assembly: Shiv Sena BJP alliance, 5 each from Shiv Sena, BJP sworn-in


Mumbai (Dec. 05, 2014): The BJP and Shiv Sena on Friday displayed their united colours of saffron with 20 ministers taking the oath of office at the simple swearing-in ceremony held in open lawns of Vidhan Bhawan. Thus, taking the total strength of the cabinet led by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis to 30 ministers. And Shiv Sena getting exactly one third share with ten ministers and BJP 20 ministers.

The Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray along with family members attended the ceremony where every Sena ministers evoked the name of Bal Thackeray while taking the oath.

The Shiv Sena Cabinet Ministers were on expected lines namely Diwakar Raote ( Mumbai), Eknath Shinde(Thane), Subash Desai (Mumbai), Deepak Sawant (Mumbai) and Ramdas Kadam (Konkan). The BJP cabinet rank ministers are Girish Bapat (Kasbapeth, Pune), Girish Mahajan (North Maharashtra), Chandrashekhar Bawankule Kamptee, Vidarbha), Rajkumar Badole (Gondia, Vidarbha), Babanrao Lonikar (Partur, Marathwada).

Interestingly, Friday’s cabinet expansion points to BJP inducting at least five ministers out of ten from Vidarbha region and Shiv Sena have five ministers from Mumbai-Thane.

The BJP’s Vidarbha representation came in the cadidature of Chandrashekhar Bawankule (Kamptee) who represents OBC community; Rajkumar Badole (Gondia) from scheduled caste, and Amrish Atram Raje (Gadchiroli) belongs to tribal community. In a departure BJP has also given representation to two candidates from state legislature council namely Praveen Pote (Amravati) and Ranjit Patil (Akola).

The BJP which has promoted young Ram Shinde (Karjat in Ahmednagar) who represents the “dhangar” community. In the last assembly elections the BJP had to reply on its ally Rashtirya Samaj Party to consolidate the “dhangar” community vote base. The induction of Vijay Deshmukh (Solapur) is to give represention to the lingayat community which has a sizeable base in parts of western Maharashtra.

Similarly, Shiv Sena whose strength is in Mumbai, Thane and Konkan appears to have based its selection accordingly. However, Sena appears to have given more significance to candidates from state legislature council as top heavy Diwakar Raote, Deepak Sawant, Subash Desai (lost assembly and will be given MLC) and Ramdas Kadam.

Out of ten ministers Sena’s Mumbai -Thane five are Raote (Mumbai), Desia,(Mumbai), Shinde (Thane), Deepak Sawant (Mumbai) all cabinet rank and Ravindra Waikar (Mumbai).

The NCP turned Shiv Sena leader Deepak Kesar who defeated Narayan Rane in Sindhurdurg has been awarded with the minister of state.

The remaining five Sena ministers hails from Konkan (2), North Maharashtra (1) and Vidarbha (1)..

Total ministers who took the oath: 20
Cabinet rank ministers: 10
Girish Bapat (BJP); Girish Mahajan (BJP), Chandrashekhar Bawankule (BJP); Babanrao Lonikar (BJP); Rajkumar Sudam Badole (BJP); Diwakar Raote (Shiv Sena); Subash Desai (Shiv Sena); Ramdas Kadam (Shiv Sena); Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena); Deepak Sawant (Shiv Sena)

Ministers of State: 10
Ram Shinde (BJP); Vijay Deshmukh (BJP); Amrish Atram Raje (BJP); Ranjit Patil (BJP), Praveen Pote (BJP); Sanjay Rathod (Shiv Sena); Dadaji Dagdu Bhuse (Shiv Sena); Vijay Shivtare (Shiv Sena); Deepak Kesarkar (Shiv Sena); Ravindra Waikar (Shiv Sena)