| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

Freedom Fighters Memorial to Come up in National and State Capitals: MoS (Home)

New Delhi (3rd Sept 2014): The Union Government is taking proactive measures for the construction of a memorial for the Martyrs of Freedom Struggle in New Delhi and is also writing to all States and Union Territories to establish them in their capitals as well. The Union Home Ministry has already written a letter to the Culture Ministry insisting upon the same, said Shri Kiren Rijiju, Minister of State for Home in Port Blair today. Addressing the first meeting of the newly constituted Committee of Eminent Freedom Fighters in the Islands capital, he said the Centre would take all possible steps for ensuring the welfare of Freedom Fighters. Government has agreed to reimburse the medical expenses of Freedom Fighters who take treatment under emergency conditions in private hospitals even if they are not empanelled by the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS). However, he clarified that the reimbursement would be made as per the CGHS rates, and any demand for full payment would be screened by the CGHS Technical Standing Committee. This year, enhancement of Dearness Relief has been effected for the first time for the veteran freedom fighters and their family pensioners in August itself, he added.

Shri KK Pathak, Joint Secretary in the Home Ministry and Member Secretary of the Committee of Eminent Freedom Fighters said a transit accommodation for the veterans has been established in Delhi and they can stay there for upto 15 days at a stretch free of cost. The Guest House is now being renovated and modern amenities would be added to it, he said. Railways would be asked to give priority in giving lower berths to Freedom Fighters and the Seventh Pay Commission would look into the demands of raising monthly honorarium and family pension.

The committee of the veterans is comprised of eight representatives from the states of West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, UP, Karnataka, Punjab and Andhra Pradesh. The Committee is of two years tenure and all states are given representation on a rotational basis. It normally meets twice every year.


Our website is being programmed for new look, we regret inconvinence