| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

PIC to organise second national level seminar on social innovation


Six Sessions to be conducted on November 17 at YASHADA

Pune (Nov. 14, 2014): A one-day national level seminar on ‘Social Innovation’ has been organised by the Pune International Centre (PIC) on November 17 in Pune. Six sessions covering various aspects of the topic will be conducted at the YASHADA Auditorium between 8 AM to 6 PM. This is the second edition of the seminar.

Eminent scientist, Chairperson of National Innovation Foundation (NIF) and President of PIC, Dr. Raghunath Mashelkar will chair the opening session of the seminar. Prof. Anil Gupta, from IIM, Ahmadabad, will address on the key issues of social innovation at the inaugural event.Dr. D. R Mehta, founder of Bhagwan Mahaveer Viklang Sahayata Samiti and Former Chairman of Securities Exchange Board of India (SEBI), will be the co-chairperson.

Prashant Girbane, Honorary Director of PIC, provided the details of the seminar. The subjects of the six sessions are – Samvedana (sensation), Sahajata (ease), Saralata (simplicity), Sampreshan (communication), Sahyog (co-operation) and Swachhata (cleanliness). The last two sessionshave been added this year in the second edition.Internationally renowned experts will participate in the discussions, to be conducted during the day.

The chairpersons and co-chairpersons for the sessions will be V. S Ramamurthy - National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bengaluru; Dr. RavindranAravind -Chairman, Aravind Eye Care System, Madurai;BinayPattanaik - Director, Institute of Social and Economic Change, Bengaluru;senior environmentalist Prof. MadhavGadgil -Agarkar Research Institute;Dr.Vipin Kumar - Director, National Innovation Foundation; K Rameshwar Singh Jamwal - Executive Director, Tata Industries;BhavnaDoshi - Chairperson, IMC Innovation Committee;Dr.DileepPadgaonkar – Chairman, Programme Committee,PIC;Anshu Gupta - Founder, Goonj; Anil Gupta – IIM, Ahmedabad and Prof. P. M. Shing - Foundation for Research in Health System (FRHS).

Many experts will share the dais as panellists–Arunima Sinha–Saheed Chandrashekhar Azad Viklang Khel Academy and Prosthetic Limb Centre Society, Lucknow, Uttar-Pradesh; PradipSarmah - Founder, Ricksaw Bank, Guwahati,Assam; Anar Patel - Founder, Craftroots, Gujarat; JyotsnaSitling -IFS,Nanda Devi Biosphere Reserve, Uttarakhand; Pratim Roy - Keystone Foundation, Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu; Sharad Sharma - Founder, World Comics Network, New Delhi; Kannan Lakshminarayan - Microspin Machine Works Pvt. Ltd., Chennai, Tamil Nadu; AjithBasu - Chief Program Executive, Agastya Foundation, Bangaluru; P. Vivekanandan - Collaborator, Honey Bee Network, Madurai; Naveen Krishna –Apna Ricksaw, SMV Wheels, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh; M. P. Vasimalai - Dhan Foundation, Karnataka; Dr. Devi Shetty – Narayana Hrudayalaya and S. Damordaran - Founder, Gramalaya, Tamil Nadu. Many other luminaries will be part of the panels.

The concluding session will see the distribution of three awards. Anjani Mashelkar Inclusive Innovation Award, Late B.G. Deshmukh Award and Late Dr. S.D. Gokhale Award will be given in the ceremony. Dr. D.R. Mehta will address on this occasion. 

The inauguration of the seminar will take place from 9.15 am to 9.45 am. The Award Ceremony is arranged at 5.30pm. The entry for these two programs is free and open to all.