| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

PIFF announced its international jury and films


Pune (Dec. 28, 2014): The 13th Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) will be held in the city from January 8 to 15. The festival is jointly organized by Pune Film Foundation with the Government of Maharashtra will have 350 shows of more than 200 films from 75 countries. Screenings will be hosted at  14 screens of 8 locations in Pune and Pimpri Chinchwad.

This year, over 600 films from various countries had participated in the competition section. The Selection committee has selected 14 films for the final competition. These films will be competing for the Government of Maharashtra Prabhat Best International Film Award (Cash Prize of Rs. 10 lakh) and Government of Maharashtra Prabhat Best International Feature Film Director (Cash Prize of Rs. 5 lakh). An audience choice best film award will also be given to one of these films.

48 films had participated in the international Marathi competition. The selection committee has shortlisted 7 films for the final competition. These films will be competing for Government of Maharashtra Sant Tukaram International Marathi Film Award (Cash Prize of Rs. 5 lakh). The Akhil Bhartiya Marathi Chitrapat Maha Mandal will also give awards in the Best Director, Best Actor, Best Cinematography and Best Screenplay category. The awards will be of Rs. 25,000/- each. Also, an audience choice award for best film will also be given to one of these tweets.
In the Volkswagen Student International Competition under the live action category, 13 films have been selected out of 123 films from 106 institutions based in 46 countries. In the Animation category, 68 filmmakers from 51 film schools of 29 countries had participated out of which 12 films have been shortlisted for final competition. The winners in both categories will be given a total cash prize of US $5000 in different categories such as Best Student Film, Director, Screenplay, Audiographer and cinematography by Volkswagen Group India. They will also do Best Animation Film (India) and Best Animation Film (International).

Maharashtra Tourisms and Development Corporation section (MTDC) has been divided further into three sub sections as Natural Heritage, Manmade Heritage and Cultural of Maharashtra. In total there are 37 shorts films participating, out of which 5 short films will be shortlisted in 3 sub sections. Winners of the sub section will be given the cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, Rs 50,000 and Rs 25,000 respectively in each category.

Under the section of ‘French Grand Classic’, 11 films curetted by renowned French Film Director Mr. Bertrand Tavernier will be screened with the help of French Embassy. 

The theme of the festival for its 13th edition is ‘War against War’. This year marks completing the 100 years of First World War and also the 25 years of The Fall of the Berlin Wall. The thought behind the theme is to spread the message of peace and humanity. Under this theme four films based on the First World War and three films based on the Berlin Wall incident will be screened throughout the festival.

This year, in the Country Focus category 20 films will be screened that includes seven each from Algeria and Egypt and six from Brazil.

Whereas, in the retrospective category, six films of the renowned Indian Actor Shri Soumitra Chatterjee, 7 films by renowned Polish Film Director Mr. Krzysztof Zanussi and four of Peruvian Film Director Mr. Francisco José Lombardi will be screened.Under the Indian Cinema category,10 Indian regional films will be screened. In the Legend we Remember section 7 documentary films will be screened with the help of Films Division, Government of India.

In the ‘Marathi Cinema Today’ section, audience will receive an opportunity to watch 5 new unreleased Marathi films. While, in the tribute section, seven films of noted film personalities who passed away in the 2014 are included.

PIFF also announced its International Jury Members in today’s press conference and they include- Mr.  Krzysztof Zanussi (Poland),  Mr. Kiran Nagarkar (India), Mr. Fernando Colomo (Spain), Dr. Helmut Groschup (Austria), Mr. Marcel Gisler (Switzerland), Mr. Marco Simon Puccioni (Italy), Mr.  Peter Tweihuas (Germany) and Ms. Nandana Sen (USA).

From January 9, 2015, over 200 films will be screened across 14 screens from the venues City Pride- Kothrud, City Pride- Satara Road, City Pride- - R Deccan, Mangala Multiplex, INOX- Camp, Big Cinema- Pimpri Chinchwad and NFAI auditorium at Law College and Kothrud.

French film ‘Timbuktu’ directed by Abderrahmane Sissako will be the opening film of the Festival. The film will be screened after the inauguration ceremony on January 8. 
The Festival has been supported by various department of Government of Maharashtra such as Directorate of Cultural Affairs, Maharashtra, Cultural Department, Public Relations Department, Finance Department, and Revenue Department in organising the festival. Other bodies partnering in the festival are – Directorate of Film Festivals, Government of India, National Film Archives of India, Film and Television Institute of India, Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation, Max Mueller Bhavan and Alliance Francaise. Embassies of Italy, Switzerland, Sweden, France, Taiwan, Hungary, Egypt, Algeria, Brazil, Israel, China, Korea, Germany, Japan and Peru have also specially co-operated in the organisation of the festival.  

Bharat Forge Ltd, UFO Moviez India Ltd, Scrabble Entertainment, DHL Pvt. Ltd, Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation, Nath Group, Yashwantrao Chavan Centre, Panchsheel Group, Radio One, Bank of Maharashtra, National Egg Coordination Committee, Volkswagen Group India, Goyal Ganga, DSK – Supinfocom, Precision Camshaft Ltd, Hotel Ramee Grand and Hotel Royalty have sponsored the festival.