| Networking Indians & Overseas Indians | News, Business, Heritage, Culture, Tradition, Networking |

Honourable Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis to Inaugurate 13th PIFF


Pune (Jan. 02, 2015): The 13th Pune International Film Festival (PIFF), will be held from January 8 to15, will be inaugurated by Devendra Fadnavis, Honourable Chief Minister of Maharashtra. The ceremony will be held on January 8 at 4 PM at City Pride Kothrud in the presence of many other dignitaries.

The ceremony will begin with a performance by eminent percussionist Taufiq Qureshi. The ceremony will be presided by Vinod Tawde, Minister for Cultural Affairs, Medical Education and Higher Education of Maharashtra. Prakash Javadekar Central Minister of Environment, Government of India, H. E. Mr. Daniel Mancini Ambassador of Italy in India; Girish Bapat Minister of Food, Civil Supplies and Pune’s Guardian Minister; Anil Shirole Member of Parliament, Pune; Dattatraya Dhankavade Mayor of Pune and Smt. Shakuntala Dharade Mayor of Pimpri-Chinchwad. 

This year PIFF will confer the PIFF Distinguished Award for outstanding contribution to senior actors Shri Shatrughan Sinha and Ms. Tanuja Mukarjee and veteran poet-lyricist Shri N.D. Mahanor. In the previous years, the award has been bestowed upon Mrinal Sen, Dilip Kumar, Lata Mangeshkar, Dev Anand, Waheeda Rehman, Shakti Samanta, Vyjayanthimala, Yash Chopra, Asha Parekh, Dharmendra, Sharmila Tagore, Shammi Kapoor, Shashi Kapoor, Sulochana, Hema Malini, Shriram Lagoo, Rajesh Khanna, Shashikala, Saira Banu, Subhash Ghai, Amitabh Bachchan, Asha Bhosle, Ramesh Deo, Jitendra, Adoor Gopalakrishnan and Vinod Khanna.  

The S.D. Burman International Award for Creative Sound and Music will be given to music composer Anandji Shah for his significant contribution in the field of music. This award will be presented during the closing ceremony of the festival. Since it was constituted in 2010, the award has been given to music directors such as Pyarelal, Khayyam, Ilaiyaraaja, Pandit Shivkumar Sharma, Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia and Pandit Hridaynath Mangeshkar.

PIFF 2015 will have an esteemed International jury constituting of Mr.  Krzysztof Zanussi (Poland),  Mr. Kiran Nagarkar (India), Mr. Fernando Colomo (Spain), Dr. Helmut Groschup (Austria), Mr. Marcel Gisler (Switzerland), Mr. Marco Simon Puccioni (Italy), Mr.  Peter Twiehaus (Germany) and Ms. Nandana Sen (USA). Along with this, Ambassadors of different embassies, veterans of the film industry and luminaries from the city will also grace the festival.

Timbuktu, a French film that has been popular at many international film festivals, is the opening film of the festival. It is directed by Abderrahmane Sissako.
Over 350 shows of 200 films will be screened across 14 screens at City Pride- Kothrud, City Pride- Satara Road, City Pride - R Deccan, Mangala Multiplex, INOX- Camp, Big Cinema- Pimpri Chinchwad and NFAI auditorium at Law College and Kothrud. The films are spread across 14 categories and are from more than 80 countries.

The Festival has been supported by Government of India, various departments of Government of Maharashtra, Directorate of Cultural Affairs, Maharashtra, Central Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festivals, National Film Archives of India, Film and Television Institute of India, Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation (MTDC), Films Division of India, Akhil Bhartiya Marathi Chitrapat Mahamandal, Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation, Pune Municipal Corporation, Whistling Woods International, Maratha Chamber of Commerce, Max Mueller Bhavan and Alliance Francaise.

Bharat Forge Ltd, UFO Moviez India Ltd, Scrabble Entertainment, DHL Pvt. Ltd, Supreme Holidays India, SNPTE, Nath Group, Yashwantrao Chavan Centre, Panchsheel Group, Radio One, Bank of Maharashtra, National Egg Coordination Committee, Volkswagen Group India, Goyal Ganga, DSK – Supinfocom, Precision Camshaft Ltd, Hotel Ramee Grand and Hotel Royalty have sponsored the festival.