Reliance Foundation Youth Sports National Football Championship Kochi, Goa, Kolkata & Mumbai advance to College Boys S/Fs


In Sr Boys, Delhi with Goa, Mumbai & Kochi makes last four


Mumbai, January 2, 2017: Govt. Higher Secondary School, Panampally-Kochi and Mamta Modern Sr. Secondary School-Delhi continued their winning momentum to finish table toppers and qualify for the semi-finals of the RFYS Sr. Boys National Football Championship, here today.


Father Agnel School & Jr College –Mumbai and Govt. Higher Secondary School-Goa were the other two teams who completed the knock-out stage with their respective third league game wins.

In the Group A of College Boys section, as expected Nirmala College Kochi sailed to the semis with ease defeating Indira College-Pune 7-0, while Rosary College of Commerce & Arts-Goa thrashed Guwahati’s Arya Vidyapeeth College 13-1 to seal the last four berth.


In Group B, Charuchandra College-Kolkata exhibited a spirited performance against Jeppiar College-Chennai (3-1) to earn their first full points and top the tables for semifinals. Thakur College of Science & Commerce-Mumbai were lucky to hold Zakir Husain College-Delhi in a goalless draw and book the last spot in semis.


Senior Boys:


Mamta Modern Sr. Sec School (Delhi) vs Kapasdanda Satin Sen Vidyapith (Kolkata)

With a 1-1 draw against Kolkata’s Kapasdanga Vidyapith, the senior boys of Delhi’s Mamta Modern School have qualified for the semi-finals of the RFYS National Finals. Rajnish Rana, who scored the equaliser for the Delhi team, was named the player of the match. The first blood was drawn by Emel Murmu of Kapasdanga Vidyapith in the 16th minute. The game of defence went on until Rajnish struck the match saving goal for Mamta Modern School in the 69th min.


PT Lee Chengalvaraya Naicker Hr. Sec School (Chennai) vs Govt. Higher Sec. School (Goa)

Govt. HSS of Goa registered their second victory of the tournament, a 6-2 triumph against PT Lee Chengalvaraya HSS, Chennai to make it to the semi-final of the senior boys category. Kunal Salgaonkar, with four goals to his name, was named the player of the match. Chennai’s PT Lee HSS got an added advantage early on, handed to them by their opponents with an own goal. However, they failed to capitalise on it and allowed the Goa boys free entry into their post. Kunal Salgaonkar was the frequent visitor with four goals while Uddesh Parab and Cyrus Noronha struck once each.


Govt. HSS, Panampally Nagar (Kochi) vs Fr. Agnel Multipurpose School and Junior College (Mumbai )

With 2 wins each in the league phase, Fr. Agnel Multipurpose School and Junior College, Mumbai moves into the Semi-finals along with Govt. HSS, Panampally Nagar, Kochi with a hard fought victory 3-2 on Day 4. Fr. Agnel took the lead via a header by Sahil in the final 5 minutes Adarsh A.S. from Govt. HSS, Panampally Nagar, Kochi was named the player of the match with 2 goals in the 13th and 45th minute.


Rajdhar Bora HS School (Guwahati) vs The Bishops School (Pune)

In the same group, Rajdhar Bora HS School, Guwahati wins their game against The Bishops School, Pune 3 – 2 but it is not enough as they both fail to qualify for the Semi-Final.


College Boys:


Charuchandra College (Kolkata) vs Jeppiar Engineering College (Chennai)

After drawing their first two games, Kolkata’s Charuchandra College upped the ante with a 6-2 win against Jeppiar College of Chennai to qualify for the semi-finals in the college boys category. Mohammad Farid, who scored the first goal for Charuchandra College, was adjudged the player of the match. The team from Kolkata maintained a tight stranglehold on the game from the beginning, taking a 2-0 lead in the first half. Their margin of victory could have been steeper had it not been for some fine keeping skills of the Jeppiar College goalkeeper.


Thakur College of Science and Commerce (Mumbai) vs Zakir Husain College (Delhi)

Thakur College of Mumbai became the second team to book a place in the college boys semi-finals of the RFYS National Championship, with a goalless draw against Delhi’s Zakir Husain College at the Father Agnel Football Ground in Vashi. Uma Shankar from Zakir Husain College was named the player of the match.


Rosary College of Commerce and Arts (Goa) vs Arya Vidyapeeth College (Guwahati)

In the college boys category Rosary College of Commerce and Arts Goa drubbed Arya Vidyapeeth College, Guwahati. The Goan teams captain Samson Simoes scored a double hat trick to lead his team into the semifinals of the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports National Championship. The boys from Goa scored an impressive 13-1 win with Snedden Medeira, Neceil Pinto and Merriston Coutinho chipping in. The player of the match was awarded to Samson Simoes.


Nirmala College (Kochi) vs Indira College of Commerce & Science (Pune)

Nirmala College, Kochi cemented their place at the top of the table with their third win in the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports National Championship being held in Mumbai. An impressive 7-0 win over Indira College of Commerce and Science Pune puts Nirmala College into the semi-finals. Jithin M scored a hat trick to lead his team once again while Abhiram Shaji put two past the opposition. Nirmala College will be the team to beat in the semi-finals as they look to make it to the finals of the College Boys category

All matches are Live streamed on RFYS website


Brief Results: Day 4


Senior Boys


Mamta Modern Sr. Sec. School (DELHI) 1 (Emel Murmu 16’) draws with Kapasdanga Satin Sen Vidyapith (KOLKATA) 1 (Rajnish Rana 69’)


Government Higher Secondary School (GOA) 6 (Dravin Mandrekar 8’ (OG), Uddesh Parab 16’, Kunal Salgaonkar 26’ 52’ 58’ 65’ , Cyrus Noronha 85’) beats Pt. Lee Chengalvaraya Naicker Hr. Sec. School, (CHENNAI) 2 (A. Kumar 77’)


Rajdhar Bora HS School (GUWAHATI) 3 (Mukul Das 51’ 58’, Dipen Das 64’) beats The Bishops School (PUNE) 2 (Vikrant Kshirsagar 43’, Denzil Colaco 73’)


Fr. Agnel Multipurpose School and Junior College (MUMBAI) 3 (Dinesh Kataria 2’, Yash Vanveru 42’, Sahil Gharat 82’) beats Govt. HSS, Panampally Nagar (KOCHI) 2 (Adarsh A.S 13’ 45’)


College Boys


Charuchandra College (KOLKATA) 3 (Md Farid 19’, Hira Mondal 34’ 83’) beats Jeppiar Engg College (CHENNAI) 1 (J. Immanuvel 90’)


Thakur College of Science and Commerce (MUMBAI) 0 draws with Zakir Husain Delhi College (DELHI) 0


Rosary College of Commerce & Arts (GOA) 13 (Snedden Medeira 1’ 52’, Samson Simoes 8’ 31’ 36’ 44’ 46’ 54’ 57’ 61’, Merriston Coutinho 34’, Neceil Pinto 62’ 86’ ) beats Arya Vidyapeeth College (GUWAHATI) 1 (Rahul Goyary 80’)


Nirmala College (KOCHI) 7 (Abhiram Shaji 3’, Jithin M 10’ 13’ 29’, Sachin Sivan 42’, Snedden Medeira 52’ Ajith Sivan 90’) beats Indira College of Commerce & Science (PUNE) 0




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here