Kohli named Captain for Srilanka Tour


The All-India Senior Selection Committee headed by Sandeep Patil announced the 15 member squad for the three match test series in Srilanka. Virat Kohli has been named captain of the team for the series.

Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay retain the openers spot after their dominating opening stand in the one-off Test against Bangladesh. K.L. Rahul, who missed the Bangladesh Test match due to fever, has also been included in the team. Chateshwar Pujara finds his way into the team along with Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane to add strength to the middle order.

Harbhajan Singh, who was recalled into the team for the Bangladesh tour and Zimbabwe tour, retains his spot after decent performances in both tours. Harbhajan along with Ravichandran Ashwin will take care of the spin attack which just gets stronger with Amit Mishra making a comeback to the Indian team as the third spinner.

Pacers Varun Aaron, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma will be part of the squad while Wriddhiman Saha comes in as the wicketkeeper-batsman.

Karn Sharma and Mohammad Sami have not been included in team because of injuries

Indian Squad for Srilanka Tour:
Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here