Shadow of Mordor gets Game of the Year at the Game Developers Choice Awards


The 15th Game Developers Choice Awards and Independent Games Festival Awards have just been held at GDC 2015 in San Francisco. After two hours of really atrocious jokes par for the course for every award ceremony (besides the one hinting to a hot night with Hironobu Sakaguchi. That one was funny), we finally have a winner: Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor

Below you can find the full list of winners of the Game Developers Choice Awards.
• Game of the Year: Middle Earth: Shadow of Mordor
• Best Audio: Alien: Isolation
• Best Debut: Stoic Studio
• Best Handheld/Mobile Game: Monument Valley
• Best Game Design: Heartstone: Heroes of Warcraft
• Best Technology: Destiny
• Best Visual Art: Monument Valley
• Best Narrative: Kentucky Route Zero
• Innovation Award: Monument Valley
• Ambassador Award: Brenda Romero
• Pioneer Award: David Braben
• Lifetime Achievement: Hironobu Sakaguchi
• Audience Award: Elite: Dangerous

The Game Developers Choice Awards are peer-voted, with winners chosen among eligible nominees by the International Choice Awards Network, an invitation-only group comprised of professional from all areas of the gaming industry.

The Independent Games Festival Awards were also held just before the GDCA, celebrating creativity among the indie development community, and the full list of winners can be found below:
• Seumas McNally Grand Prize: Outer Wilds
• Excellence In Visual Art: Metamorphabet
• Excellence In Audio: Ephemerid
• Excellence in Design: Outer Wilds
• Excellence in Narrative: 80 Days
• Nuovo Award: Tetrageddon Games
• Audience Award: This War of Mine
• Student Showcase: Close Your