Defending Champions Ethiopians Hayle Lemi Berhanu and Anchialem Haymanot headline at the Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024

Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024
Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024

CHENNAI: Defending champions and event record holders Ethiopians Hayle Lemi Berhanu and Anchialem Haymanot will headline the 19th edition of the Tata Mumbai Marathon, a World Athletics Gold Label Road Race, scheduled on Sunday, the 21st of January 2024.

Earlier this year, Berhanu clocked 2:07:32 and Haymanot logged an incredible 2:24:15 on her debut, to win in Mumbai with new event records. Later, Haymanot improved her timing to 2:22:23 in Amsterdam while finishing sixth where Berhanu posted a season-best 2:05:48 to finish at fifth.

Speaking about returning to the Tata Mumbai Marathon, Hayle Said I won the 2023 edition of the Mumbai marathon under perfect conditions. It was indeed a surprise and unexpected win at that time. But I want to make sure that I replicate my victory in January as I’m confident of finishing on top in 2024“.

However, it will not be an easy task for both runners to wrest their titles again in 2024. As many as six other men and two other women runners who had personal bests superior to the current Mumbai course records have entered the fray to challenge the reigning champions.

The US $405,000 prize money event will witness some of the finest athletes take centre-stage at the Tata Mumbai Marathon. With equal prize money for men and women winners, the first three in each race stand to win US $50,000, $25,000, and $10,000. The USD 15,000 bonus also awaits those who break the existing event records.

Ethiopian Kinde Atanw (30), who is credited with a PB of 2:03:51–that he achieved while winning the Valencia Marathon in 2019–will be the leading name among the men. Incidentally, Atanaw finished third during the World 10K in Bengaluru way back in 2014 on his previous appearance in India.

Lelisa Desisa, the 2019 World Champion, together with four fellow Ethiopian runners and Eritrean Merhawi Kesete will give Hayle Lemi a run for his money this time. Kesete finished ninth in Mumbai in 2020.

Desisa, who had his earlier appearances in India through the TCS World 10K Bengaluru, where he finished third in 2011, and Vedanta Delhi Half Marathon in three consecutive years (2010-2012, including a victory in 2010) is credited with the second-fastest time (2:04:45) among those men who entered for the 2024 race. On his numerous international ventures, Desisa also captured two Boston marathon wins besides a title victory in New York among the big ones.

The women’s line-up includes two Ethiopians and one Kenyan runner to make it tough for Anchialem in the upcoming race in Mumbai. Country-mates Tadelech Bekele, the 2018 London Marathon podium finisher, and Sofia Assefa–the 2012 London Olympics steeplechase silver medalist who clocked an impressive 2:23:33 on her marathon debut in Amsterdam this October will be the main challenge to the defending champion.

Speaking about returning to the Tata Mumbai Marathon, Anchialem Said I ran my maiden marathon in Mumbai and was lucky to win the race. I am eager to repeat the feat once again in 2024

Commenting on this year’s field, Vivek Singh, Jt. MD. Procam International said, “The Tata Mumbai Marathon continues to attract some of the finest athletes in the world. It is also a matter of great pride to have our defending champions back and this year, with Kinde Atanaw & Tadelech Bekele we have one of the fastest fields we have ever had at the event. We are sure to have some scintillating action on the course.

The Tata Mumbai Marathon is one of the designated marathon races to qualify for the upcoming Paris Olympic Games.



Kinde AtanawETH2:03:51
Hayle LemiETH2:04:33
Lelisa DesisaETH2:04:45
Haymanot AlewETH2:05:57
Gebretsadik AbrahaETH2:06:08
Merhawi KeseteERI2:06:36
Yohans MekashaETH2:07:19
Mitku TafaETH2:08:18
Dickson KiptooKEN2:08:31
Joshua KogoKEN2:08:39
Mesele KirosETHDebut
Demeke TesfayeETHDebut


Anchialem HaymanotETH2:22:23
Tadelech BekeleETH2:21:40
Sofia AssefaETH2:23:33
Zenebu BihonegnETH2:24:16
Muluhabt TsegaETH2:24:23
Ayantu Gemechu AbdiETH2:24:45
Aberash FayisaETH2:24:59
Mulugojam BirhanETH2:27;52
Medhin BeyeneETH2:28:59
Maritu KetemaETH2:30:56
Aberash DemisseETH2:40:43
Ayinadis TeshomeETHDebut
Aberash MinsewoETHDebut


Benard CheptochUGA
Luuk MaasNED
Dawit BelachewETH
Tilahun AmsaluETH
Levy KibetUGA
Selamihun FentaETH
Dominic NgenoKEN

For more information about the Tata Mumbai Marathon 2024 visit,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here